Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Action Express Racing and Team Penske had a combined three cars battling for the last DPi pole of 2019 within a minuscule two-tenths of a second.


Action Express Racing’s championship-contending Cadillac DPi-V.R will have the best possible starting position for the season-ending Motul Petit Le Mans after Felipe Nasr delivered the final pole position of 2019 to the team.

On his fifth of seven qualifying laps in the Whelen Engineering-branded No. 31 Cadillac DPi, Nasr toured Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta in 1:08.457, destroying the former prototype lap record by just under two seconds and securing the overall pole for Saturday’s 10-hour endurance contest.

Just as he did in the pre-qualifying practice session, Ricky Taylor came up short of Nasr in the No. 7 Acura ARX-05. The Team Penske driver was 0.141 seconds shy of Nasr’s pole time to land on the outside of the front row.

The second Action Express Cadillac, carrying Mustang Sampling branding and set for its final planned start, was qualified to the third position by Filipe Albuquerque, 0.172 seconds back from the sister No. 31 car.

Carrying a comfortable 12-point lead into the finale, the No. 6 Acura DPi from Penske will start fourth after Dane Cameron could only come within 0.345 seconds of Nasr during the 15-minute combined DPi/LMP2 session.

The two Mazda Team Joest entries will share the third row after fifth- and sixth-place qualifying performances by Timo Bernhard and Harry Tincknell in the Nos. 77 and 55 Mazda RT24-P machines, respectively.

Qualifying a prototype for his final time, CORE autosport team owner and driver Jon Bennett rounded out the 11-car premier class at three seconds off Nasr’s pole-earning pace in the field’s only Ligier Nissan DPi.

Performance Tech Swipes LMP2 Pole

Kyle Masson put an end to the trend PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports had set by leading all four practice sessions when he sped to the LMP2 pole in Performance Tech Motorsports’ ORECA 07.

At 1:10.722, Masson’s best lap around the 2.54-mile permanent road course was roughly half a second quicker than the top practice laps in the secondary prototype division.

Matthew McMurry will start second in the PR1 Mathiasen ORECA.

After a brief warm-up outing from 9:30–9:50 a.m. EDT, the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship will complete its final 2019 race from 12:05–10:05 p.m. Saturday. Live television coverage of the race start will be shown on NBC beginning at noon.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Durant
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

Related articles
More like this on The Apex