Race Report: 2019 Monterey SportsCar Championship

This year's IMSA visit to Laguna Seca will kick off two consecutive weekends of racing at the historic track.

Monterey SportsCar Championship
WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca
Sept. 15, 2019

Use the drop-down menus or the links that follow to view post-race information, session results, important times, entrant facts, weather forecast, track facts and history.



2018 Winners— P: Pipo Derani, Johannes van Overbeek (Tequila Patron ESM)
— GTLM: Connor De Phillippi, Alexander Sims (BMW Team RLL)
— GTD: Katherine Legge, Alvaro Parente (Michael Shank Racing)
2017 Winners— P: Marc Goossens, Renger van der Zande (Visit Florida Racing)
— GTLM: John Edwards, Martin Tomczyk (BMW Team RLL)
— GTD: Christina Nielsen, Alessandro Balzan (Scuderia Corsa)
2016 Winners— P: Oswaldo Negri, Jr., John Pew (Michael Shank Racing)
— PC: Robert Alon, Tom Kimber-Smith (PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports)
— GTLM: Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook (Chip Ganassi Racing)
— GTD: Mario Farnbacher, Alex Riberas (Alex Job Racing)
2015 Winners— P: Richard Westbrook, Michael Valiante (Visit Florida Racing)
— PC: Bruno Junqueira, Chris Cumming (RSR Racing)
— GTLM: John Edwards, Lucas Luhr (BMW Team RLL)
— GTD: Patrick Lindsey, Spencer Pumpelly (Park Place Motorsports)
2014 Winners— P: Ed Brown, Johannes van Overbeek (Tequila Patron ESM)
— PC: Mirco Schultis, Renger van der Zande (Starworks Motorsport)
— GTLM: Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia (Corvette Racing)
— GTD: Dane Cameron, Markus Palttala (Turner Motorsport)
The Apex
Standing for independence and quality, The Apex publishes articles and produces a podcast for discerning IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and NTT IndyCar Series fans interested in going beyond the headline.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Ad-free, info-filled and reader-supported

The Apex Crew directly funds the work behind dozens of Race Reports created each year.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex