Race Report: 2019 Grand Prix of Portland

The first of two road courses to finish out the 2019 season, IndyCar's return to Portland will set the stage for the championship decider at Laguna Seca.

Grand Prix of Portland
Portland International Raceway
Sept. 1, 2019

Use the drop-down menus or the links that follow to view post-race information, session results, important times, entrant facts, weather forecast, track facts and history.



Past Driver PerformanceView PDF
Last Five Wins— 2018: Takuma Sato, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
— 2007: Sebastien Bourdais, Newman Haas Lanigan Racing
— 2006: AJ Allmendinger, Forsythe Championship Racing
— 2005: Cristiano da Matta, PKV Racing
— 2004: Sebastien Bourdais, Newman Haas Racing
Last Five Poles— 2018: Will Power, Team Penske (57.3467 seconds)
— 2007: Justin Wilson, R Sports
— 2006: Bruno Junqueira, Newman Haas Racing
— 2005: Justin Wilson, RuSPORT
— 2004: Sebastien Bourdais, Newman Haas Racing
Qualifying Lap Record57.2143 seconds (Will Power of Team Penske on Sept. 1, 2018)
The Apex
Standing for independence and quality, The Apex publishes articles and produces a podcast for discerning IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and NTT IndyCar Series fans interested in going beyond the headline.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Ad-free, info-filled and reader-supported

The Apex Crew directly funds the work behind dozens of Race Reports created each year.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex