Race Report: 2019 Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey

IndyCar's return to Laguna Seca will decide the 2019 series champion.

Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey
WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca
Sept. 22, 2019

Use the drop-down menus or the links that follow to view post-race information, session results, important times, entrant facts, weather forecast, track facts and history.


Entrant Facts

Starting LineupView Table
Qualifying GroupsView PDF
Entry ListView Table
Spotter Guide
2019 Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey spotter guide
View PDF
Pit AssignmentsView PDF
Push-to-Pass Parameters150 seconds of total time with a maximum time of 15 seconds per activation.
Tires Available per EntrySeven sets primary, four sets alternate. Teams must use one set of primary and one new set of alternate tires in the race.

Starting Lineup

SPCar No.DriverEngineTire
(R) Rookie
188Colton Herta (R)HondaAlternate
29Scott DixonHondaAlternate
327Alexander RossiHondaAlternate
42Josef NewgardenChevroletAlternate
55James HinchcliffeHondaAlternate
622Simon PagenaudChevroletAlternate
712Will PowerChevroletPrimary
815Graham RahalHondaAlternate
928Ryan Hunter-ReayHondaAlternate
1059Max ChiltonChevroletAlternate
117Marcus Ericsson (R)HondaAlternate
1219Santino Ferrucci (R)HondaAlternate
1325Conor DalyHondaAlternate
1410Felix Rosenqvist (R)HondaAlternate
1521Spencer PigotChevroletAlternate
1630Takuma SatoHondaPrimary
1726Zach VeachHondaAlternate
1820Ed JonesChevroletAlternate
1918Sebastien BourdaisHondaAlternate
2023Charlie KimballChevroletPrimary
2114Tony KanaanChevroletAlternate
2298Marco AndrettiHondaAlternate
234Matheus LeistChevroletAlternate
2460Jack HarveyHondaAlternate
— Starting Lineup: PDF

Entry List

Car No.DriverHometownSponsorTeamEngine
(R) — Denotes NTT IndyCar Series Rookie of the Year candidate
2Josef NewgardenNashville, Tennessee, USAHitachiTeam PenskeChevrolet
4Matheus LeistNovo Hamburgo, BrazilABC SupplyAJ Foyt RacingChevrolet
5James HinchcliffeToronto, CanadaArrowArrow Schmidt Peterson MotorsportsHonda
7Marcus Ericsson (R)Kumla, SwedenArrowArrow Schmidt Peterson MotorsportsHonda
9Scott DixonAuckland, New ZealandPNC BankChip Ganassi RacingHonda
10Felix Rosenqvist (R)Värnamo, SwedenNTT DataChip Ganassi RacingHonda
12Will PowerToowoomba, AustraliaVerizonTeam PenskeChevrolet
14Tony KanaanSalvador, BrazilABC SupplyAJ Foyt RacingChevrolet
15Graham RahalNew Albany, Ohio, USAUnited RentalsRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda
18Sebastien BourdaisLe Mans, FranceSealMasterDale Coyne RacingHonda
19Santino Ferrucci (R)Woodbury, Connecticut, USACly-Del ManufacturingDale Coyne RacingHonda
20Ed JonesDubai, United Arab EmiratesEd Carpenter Racing Scuderia CorsaEd Carpenter RacingChevrolet
21Spencer PigotOrlando, Florida, USAEd Carpenter RacingEd Carpenter RacingChevrolet
22Simon PagenaudMontmorillon, FranceDXC TechnologyTeam PenskeChevrolet
23Charlie KimballCamarillo, California, USATresibaCarlinChevrolet
25Conor DalyNoblesville, Indiana, USAU.S. Air ForceAndretti AutosportHonda
26Zach VeachStockdale, Ohio, USAGainbridgeAndretti AutosportHonda
27Alexander RossiNevada City, California, USANAPA Auto PartsAndretti AutosportHonda
28Ryan Hunter-ReayFort Lauderdale, Florida, USADHLAndretti AutosportHonda
30Takuma SatoTokyo, JapanMi-Jack / PanasonicRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda
59Max ChiltonReigate, EnglandGallagherCarlinChevrolet
60Jack HarveyLincoln, EnglandAutoNation / SiriusXMMeyer Shank RacingHonda
88Colton Herta (R)Valencia, California, USACapstone TurbineHarding Steinbrenner RacingHonda
98Marco AndrettiNazareth, Pennsylvania, USAU.S. Concrete / CurbAndretti AutosportHonda
— Entry List: PDF
The Apex
Standing for independence and quality, The Apex publishes articles and produces a podcast for discerning IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and NTT IndyCar Series fans interested in going beyond the headline.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Ad-free, info-filled and reader-supported

The Apex Crew directly funds the work behind dozens of Race Reports created each year.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex