Herta Captures Pole for Season Finale

Primary title rivals Rossi and Newgarden will share the second row.


Colton Herta punched his ticket to the final Firestone Fast Six of 2019 along with the four mathematically eligible NTT IndyCar Series championship contenders and beat them all to earn pole position for the season finale.

The Harding Steinbrenner Racing rookie set the fastest laps in both his Round 1 group and Round 2 minutes before doing the same in the Fast Six, during which he went 0.0426 seconds quicker than five-time IndyCar champion Scott Dixon to claim the last NTT P1 Award of the year.

The 19-year-old’s 1:10.1405 lap in the Fast Six wasn’t as quick as Ryan Hunter-Reay’s top Practice 2 lap nor Herta’s own lap in Round 2 of qualifying.

Regardless, the result extended Herta’s impressive rookie season, which includes a victory in his third IndyCar start at Circuit of The Americas in March and poles at Road America and last time out at Portland International Raceway.

Herta, having swiped the last two poles of his rookie campaign, will take the green flag alongside Dixon on the front row with primary title rivals Alexander Rossi and Josef Newgarden directly behind. Colton needs two more WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca poles to tie his father Bryan at the picturesque venue.

James Hinchcliffe joined Herta and the four title contenders in the final qualifying round and wound up fifth, 0.6598 seconds from the pole. Pagenaud, third in the points entering Sunday’s contest, was 0.0613 seconds slower after slipping into the Fast Six despite a messy outing in Round 2.

Will Power, Graham Rahal, Hunter-Reay, Max Chilton, Marcus Ericsson and Santino Ferrucci showed well in qualifying but didn’t make the cut for the Fast Six at the conclusion of Round 2. They’ll fill positions six through 12 on the starting grid.

Conor Daly was just outside that group in 13th while Felix Rosenqvist is scored 14th on the final qualifying results after losing his two fastest laps and the chance to advance to the Fast Six when he ran off at Turn 6 and spun at the exit, impeding Hinchcliffe. The Chip Ganassi Racing rookie had the fastest lap in pre-qualifying practice.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Honda will start 24th and last during its final race in association with Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports after Jack Harvey was eliminated in Group 2 of Round 1.

One more session remains of IndyCar’s 2019 season: the 90-lap race at Laguna Seca. NBC’s live telecast of the season-ending event will open at 2:30 p.m. EDT with the green flag expected at 12:15 p.m. track local time (3:15 p.m. EDT).

Aaron Durant
Aaron Duranthttp://aarondurant.com
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

Related articles
More like this on The Apex