Acura Sweeps Laguna Seca Front Row

The Acura DPi duo will have clear track ahead when the green flag flies at Laguna Seca.


Ricky Taylor became the new WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca lap record holder in a Daytona Prototype international car as he beat fellow Team Penske pilot Juan Pablo Montoya to the overall pole for the penultimate race of 2019.

Co-driver to three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves in the No. 7 Acura ARX-05, Ricky bested the lap that his brother Jordan took to the top in qualifying last year by a significant 1.156 seconds to break the standing record and earn the best possible starting position for Sunday’s two-hour, 40-minute race.

The championship-leading No. 6 Acura DPi will start second after Montoya laid down a best qualifying lap within 0.308 seconds of Taylor’s, completing a 1-2 result for the Penske-run, Acura-powered prototypes.

Jordan Taylor was 0.453 seconds slower than his brother in the 15-minute session while earning the third starting for Wayne Taylor Racing’s Cadillac DPi-V.R. As the fastest DPi not bearing an Acura logo, the Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi will share the second row with No. 77 Mazda RT24-P after Tristan Nunez placed fourth in qualifying.

Trailing Montoya and Dane Cameron of the No. 6 Acura by seven points entering the year’s final sprint race, Felipe Nasr and Pipo Derani will start from the fifth position in their Whelen-branded Cadillac. Nasr was 0.575 seconds slower than the pole-earning Acura.

Performance Tech Secures LMP2 Pole

Kyle Masson captured his third pole in IMSA’s premier championship with a 1:16.817 lap at the controls of Performance Tech Motorsports’ ORECA 07.

He and Cameron Cassels will chase their second LMP2 victory of the year after beating the identical ORECA of PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports to the Laguna Seca pole by eight-tenths of a second — a gap that covered the top seven in DPi.

After a 20-minute warm-up outing from 8–8:20 a.m. PDT Sunday, all four WeatherTech Championship classes will engage in battle for nearly three hours beginning at 3:05 p.m. EDT, live on NBC.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Durant
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

Related articles
More like this on The Apex