32 Cars Entered for Final Sprint Round at Laguna Seca

The final standard-duration race of 2019 will feature 12 prototypes and 20 GT cars.


A total of 32 cars across the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s four classes are signed up for the Monterey SportsCar Championship at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Of the 64 drivers set to compete in DPi, LMP2, GT Le Mans and GT Daytona at the classic American road course, 25 have at least one race win in IMSA’s premier championship to their name since 1999. Sixteen have started from the pole position at least once.

Ricky Taylor, Tristan Nunez, Jordan Taylor and Colin Braun are previous pole sitters at Laguna Seca and will race for four separate teams — Team Penske, Mazda Team Joest, Wayne Taylor Racing and CORE autosport — in the premier DPi division for the final sprint race of the 2019 season.

Beyond Graham Rahal’s return to Penske, no changes are present across the 10-car class which is still missing Juncos Racing’s Cadillac DPi-V.R following Victor Franzoni’s serious incident at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park early in July.

In LMP2, longtime Performance Tech Motorsports driver James French will stick with the team and race the No. 38 ORECA 07 alongside Cameron Cassels, extending his one-off drive at Road America. The No. 52 car of PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports beat the Performance Tech entry at Road America and will again be its only competition at Laguna Seca.

Porsche leads Corvette in 2019 Long Beach IMSA race
Both Porsche 911 RSRs lead the top Corvette Racing entry in the GTLM standings as the WeatherTech Championship heads to its namesake WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca. | Photo: Jamie Sheldrick / Spacesuit Media

With four wins and a field-high four poles at the track, Corvette Racing’s Jan Magnussen will be a driver to watch in GTLM at Laguna Seca but the limited entry list-related excitement takes place in the other GT division.

Issued Wednesday morning, the initial pre-event entry list erroneously named Matt Campbell as Zacharie Robichon’s co-driver in the Porsche 911 GT3 R of Pfaff Motorsports for his second time this season but it will be Scott Hargrove back in the Canadian team’s entry in Monterey.

The first year of the WeatherTech Sprint Cup will conclude at Laguna Seca with an ultra-tight battle between Robichon in the Pfaff Porsche and Meyer Shank Racing’s Trent Hindman and Mario Farnbacher to be decided. Just one point separates Robichon from the duo of the No. 86 Acura NSX GT3.

The second Acura set to race in GTD also features a change since the last race at VIR as Christina Nielsen is declared Katherine Legge’s co-driver in the No. 57 after missing the previous event due to the conflicting Intercontinental GT Challenge round in Suzuka. Legge is the only driver to have raced the car at every round in 2019 and heads to Laguna Seca 10th in both the driver and Sprint Cup standings.

All four WeatherTech Championship classes previously raced together Aug. 4 at Road America with a three-car larger field than will head to Laguna Seca. Starworks Motorsport, Lone Star Racing and Wright Motorsports contributed Audi, Mercedes-AMG and Porsche cars to the Road America grid that will be absent in California.

While lacking a title sponsor, the Monterey SportsCar Championship powered by McLaren will be IMSA’s first telecast on the main NBC network channel. Live coverage of the two-hour, 40-minute race will open at 3 p.m. EDT on Sunday, Sept. 15.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Duranthttp://aarondurant.com
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

Related articles
More like this on The Apex