Race Report: 2019 Michelin GT Challenge

The second and final GT-only round of 2019 sends the WeatherTech Championship into its final two races of the season.

Michelin GT Challenge
Virginia International Raceway
Aug. 25, 2019

Use the drop-down menus or the links that follow to view post-race information, session results, important times, entrant facts, weather forecast, track facts and history.



2018 Winners— GTLM: Connor De Phillippi, Alexander Sims (BMW Team RLL)
— GTD: Dominik Baumann, Kyle Marcelli (3GT Racing)
2017 Winners— GTLM: Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia (Corvette Racing)
— GTD: Corey Lewis, Jeroen Mul (Change Racing)
2016 Winners— GTLM: Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia (Corvette Racing)
— GTD: Madison Snow, Bryan Sellers (Paul Miller Racing)
2015 Winners— GTLM: Patrick Pilet, Nick Tandy (Porsche North America)
— GTD: Townsend Bell, Bill Sweedler (Scuderia Corsa)
2014 Winners— GTLM: Pierre Kaffer, Giancarlo Fisichella (Risi Competizione)
— GTD: Dane Cameron, Markus Palttala (Turner Motorsport)
The Apex
Standing for independence and quality, The Apex publishes articles and produces a podcast for discerning IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and NTT IndyCar Series fans interested in going beyond the headline.

Latest news

Penske Victorious at Laguna Seca in 200th Sports Car Start

Dane Cameron and Juan Pablo Montoya earned Team Penske its 90th sports car racing win at Laguna Seca.

Mueller, Hand Earn First 2019 Win at Laguna Seca

Chip Ganassi Racing's No. 66 Ford GT became a winner for the first time in 2019 at Laguna Seca.

Acura Sweeps Laguna Seca Front Row

Ricky Taylor and Juan Pablo Montoya qualified first and second at Laguna Seca for Acura and Team Penske.

Ad-free, info-filled and reader-supported

The Apex Crew directly funds the work behind dozens of Race Reports created each year.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex