Herta Paces Pre-Qualifying Portland Practice

Colton Herta continued to show speed in the third practice session for the 2019 Grand Prix of Portland.

Colton Herta’s Harding Steinbrenner Racing machine returned to the top of the timesheet in the weekend’s third practice session at Portland International Raceway.

Herta lapped the permanent road course in 57.9939 seconds, tripping the timing line slightly slower than his chart-topping Practice 1 pace but keeping Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden at bay by one-tenth of a second.

Championship points leader Newgarden and teammate Will Power battled on track over the final laps of the 45-minute session but Power failed to unseat either Newgarden or Herta and settled for the third-fastest time, ultimately 0.0710 seconds shy of Newgarden’s fastest lap.

Title hopefuls Scott Dixon and Alexander Rossi completed the top five in their Honda-powered race cars. The manufacturer swept the remainder of the top 10 with Ryan Hunter-Reay, Jack Harvey, Graham Rahal, Felix Rosenqvist and Sebastien Bourdais filling positions six through 10.

The period was paused twice for incidents at the Shelton Chicane that comprises the first three turns of the 1.964-mile, 12-turn road course. AJ Foyt Racing’s Matheus Leist experienced a Turn 2 spin that left him with a stalled race car at the session’s 17-minute mark. Ten minutes later, Santino Ferrucci’s Dale Coyne Racing car lost power coming out of pit lane and stopped at the entrance to Turn 1.

Less than a second separated first and 23rd on the Practice 3 timesheet, pointing to a competitive knockout qualifying to set the grid for Sunday’s 105-lap race. All three rounds of qualifying will air live on NBCSN at 6 p.m. EDT.

Ben Hinc
Ben Hinchttp://www.benhinc.com
Ben's executive editor title is purposefully broad to encompass the bottomless list of roles he fills for The Apex, which includes webmaster, graphic designer, quality consultant and writer. Ben's technical background and progressive media distribution approach set The Apex apart technologically and philosophically.

Latest news

Penske Victorious at Laguna Seca in 200th Sports Car Start

Dane Cameron and Juan Pablo Montoya earned Team Penske its 90th sports car racing win at Laguna Seca.

Mueller, Hand Earn First 2019 Win at Laguna Seca

Chip Ganassi Racing's No. 66 Ford GT became a winner for the first time in 2019 at Laguna Seca.

Acura Sweeps Laguna Seca Front Row

Ricky Taylor and Juan Pablo Montoya qualified first and second at Laguna Seca for Acura and Team Penske.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex