Daly Tops Night Practice in St. Louis

Conor Daly was in the mix throughout night practice at Gateway, eventually clocking the fastest lap in his Carlin-prepared Chevrolet.

A session-ending encounter with the Turn 4 SAFER Barrier for his teammate didn’t stop Conor Daly from putting Carlin on top of the night practice speed chart at World Wide Technology Raceway.

Daly’s best revolution of the 1.25-mile oblong oval came on his 66th of 68 total laps and clocked in at 24.7346 seconds, equaling 181.931 mph. The speed, while well shy of Josef Newgarden’s pole-winning pace just a few hours prior, exceeded the journeyman driver’s qualifying pace by more than 2 mph.

Pole sitter Newgarden was relegated to the second position with his 181.312 mph effort, giving Chevrolet a sweep of the top two in the final session before Saturday’s 248-lap race.

Zach Veach, Takuma Sato and Felix Rosenqvist completed the top five with Honda power while reigning series champion Scott Dixon placed sixth.

Championship challenger Alexander Rossi, who struggled in qualifying with the 11th-fastest two-lap average, could do no better than eighth under the lights. Fellow title hopeful Simon Pagenaud fared better with the seventh fastest lap in his Menards-liveried Team Penske machine.

Five Chevrolet-powered cars occupied the bottom of the timesheet with Spencer Pigot, Will Power, Charlie Kimball, Matheus Leist and Ed Carpenter placing 18th through 22nd. Kimball’s contact with the wall in Turn 4 brought out the session’s only caution, which was quickly followed by the checkered flag.

Led to the green flag by Newgarden, the series will return to action for the roughly 500-kilometer race at 7:45 p.m. CDT with live coverage on NBCSN.

Ben Hinc
Ben Hinchttp://www.benhinc.com
Ben's executive editor title is purposefully broad to encompass the bottomless list of roles he fills for The Apex, which includes webmaster, graphic designer, quality consultant and writer. Ben's technical background and progressive media distribution approach set The Apex apart technologically and philosophically.

Latest news

Penske Victorious at Laguna Seca in 200th Sports Car Start

Dane Cameron and Juan Pablo Montoya earned Team Penske its 90th sports car racing win at Laguna Seca.

Mueller, Hand Earn First 2019 Win at Laguna Seca

Chip Ganassi Racing's No. 66 Ford GT became a winner for the first time in 2019 at Laguna Seca.

Acura Sweeps Laguna Seca Front Row

Ricky Taylor and Juan Pablo Montoya qualified first and second at Laguna Seca for Acura and Team Penske.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex