Bourdais Clocks Fastest Pit Stop in Additional Portland Session

The No. 18 SealMaster Honda was fastest from pit in to pit out during Friday's third IndyCar session at Portland.

Featuring 36% of the 1,206 laps the NTT IndyCar Series field turned Friday at Portland International Raceway, a combined “warm-up”/pit stop practice session saw Ryan Hunter-Reay set the fastest traditional lap while Practice 2 pacesetter Sebastien Bourdais had the quickest pit lane visit.

On his fifth of 16 laps, the driver of the No. 28 DHL Honda set the quickest trips through the second and third sectors of the 1.964-mile permanent road course, promoting Hunter-Reay’s name to the top of the running order.

That lap from Hunter-Reay put him 0.37 seconds clear of his Andretti Autosport teammate Zach Veach but was more than eight-tenths of a second off the day’s quickest time and gives no indication of his — and his crew’s — speed on Portland’s pit lane.

Shortly after executing the session’s fastest full lap, Hunter-Reay and his crew completed the No. 28 machine’s quickest trip from pit in to pit out at 31.9958 seconds — only good enough for 19th out of 23 through pit lane. Instead, Bourdais and his Dale Coyne Racing crew ensured the No. 18 SealMaster Honda was fastest of them all in the pits, requiring just 18.9539 seconds to enter and exit the speed-limited lane alongside the frontstretch.

The cars of Tony Kanaan, Will Power, Conor Daly and Graham Rahal filled the remainder of the top five on the top section times table for pit lane.

Though he had the 12th-fastest trip through the pits, James Hinchcliffe also showed well on INDYCAR’s top section times report with the fastest in and out laps as well as the quickest interval from pit exit through Turn 1. Furthermore, only Colton Herta was faster than Hinchcliffe through the final turn and across the pit entrance line.

None of the 23 drivers turned their best laps of the day during the session centered around pit stops, ensuring Herta’s 57.4293 from Practice 1 ended day one as the top time. Championship contenders Alexander Rossi, Scott Dixon and Josef Newgarden plus Marco Andretti round out the top five on Friday’s combined timesheet.

Practice 3 will last from 2–2:25 p.m. EDT Saturday before qualifying begins at 6 p.m., live on NBCSN, to set the grid for Sunday’s 105-lap penultimate round of the 2019 season.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Durant
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Penske Victorious at Laguna Seca in 200th Sports Car Start

Dane Cameron and Juan Pablo Montoya earned Team Penske its 90th sports car racing win at Laguna Seca.

Mueller, Hand Earn First 2019 Win at Laguna Seca

Chip Ganassi Racing's No. 66 Ford GT became a winner for the first time in 2019 at Laguna Seca.

Acura Sweeps Laguna Seca Front Row

Ricky Taylor and Juan Pablo Montoya qualified first and second at Laguna Seca for Acura and Team Penske.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex