2020 WeatherTech Championship Schedule an Exercise in Consistency

Featuring the same 12 events that have comprised the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship schedule since 2018 and minimal date changes, the 2020 calendar for the premier North American sports car racing series is a direct reflection of the year that preceded it.

Despite looking much the same, a key year-over-year difference will be NBC network coverage of the season-opening Rolex 24 at Daytona, set for Jan. 26 at Daytona International Speedway. The race joins the penultimate round at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca and the season finale at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta in receiving network attention from series media partner NBC Sports. All 2020 events have one or more NBC Sports networks attached to them; some races will air live while others will be on a same-day delay. Regardless of network coverage, all events will be available live through NBCSports.com streaming.

Like this year, the four Michelin Endurance Cup races at Daytona, Sebring International Raceway, Watkins Glen International and Road Atlanta will feature all four classes. In a twist for 2020, LMP2 cars will be invited to participate at Daytona for endurance honors but the event will not count toward the class’ season-long championship as it does for the other three classes. The secondary prototype division will again skip the Long Beach and Detroit street contests and will not be present at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, turning that north-of-the-border event into a three-class affair.

The remaining races retain an identical class structure to 2019 with all four classes competing at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Road America and Laguna Seca. The street circuits will continue to feature DPis and GT cars with GT Le Mans to hit the streets of Long Beach and GT Daytona at the Raceway at Belle Isle Park. Like 2019, the Detroit event will only count for the WeatherTech Sprint Cup and not the WeatherTech Championship.

As in previous years, the Roar Before the Rolex 24 will serve as the only officially sanctioned preseason testing opportunity for teams. The three-day test will jumpstart the season Jan. 3–5 at Daytona.

2019 WeatherTech Championship Schedule

Jan. 3–5Daytona International SpeedwayDPi, LMP2, GTLM, GTD3-day testN/A
Jan. 23–26Daytona International SpeedwayDPi, LMP2*, GTLM, GTD24 hoursNBC, NBCSN
March 18–21Sebring International RacewayDPi, LMP2, GTLM, GTD12 hoursNBCSN, CNBC
April 17–18Streets of Long BeachDPi, GTLM100 minutesNBCSN
May 1–3Mid-Ohio Sports Car CourseDPi, LMP2, GTLM, GTD2 hours, 40 minutesNBCSN
May 29–30Raceway at Belle Isle ParkDPi, GTD Sprint Cup100 minutesNBCSN
June 25–28Watkins Glen InternationalDPi, LMP2, GTLM, GTD6 hoursNBCSN
July 3–5Canadian Tire Motorsport ParkDPi, GTLM, GTD2 hours, 40 minutesNBCSN
July 17–18Lime Rock ParkGTLM, GTD2 hours, 40 minutesNBCSN
July 31 to Aug. 2Road AmericaDPi, LMP2, GTLM, GTD2 hours, 40 minutesCNBC
Aug. 21–23Virginia International RacewayGTLM, GTD2 hours, 40 minutesNBCSN
Sept. 11–13WeatherTech Raceway Laguna SecaDPi, LMP2, GTLM, GTD2 hours, 40 minutesNBC
Oct. 7–10Michelin Raceway Road AtlantaDPi, LMP2, GTLM, GTD10 hoursNBC, NBCSN
* Does not count toward 2020 WeatherTech Championship points for LMP2 class.
Ben Hinc
Ben Hinchttp://www.benhinc.com
Ben's executive editor title is purposefully broad to encompass the bottomless list of roles he fills for The Apex, which includes webmaster, graphic designer, quality consultant and writer. Ben's technical background and progressive media distribution approach set The Apex apart technologically and philosophically.

Latest news

Power Wins Rain-Shortened Pocono Contest on Strategy

Will Power's first win of 2019 came in the final superspeedway race on the calendar, which included a high-speed crash involving five cars and an early checkered flag.

Kanaan Paces Pocono Practice

Carrying primary sponsorship from the event title sponsor, Tony Kanaan set the quickest lap of Pocono Raceway in IndyCar's only Friday session.

Weather Shakes Up Pocono Weekend

The cancelation of qualifying at Pocono places Josef Newgarden and Alexander Rossi on the front row for the final superspeedway race of 2019.

Available to all, supported by some

Being supported by regular readers enables The Apex to take a quality-over-quantity approach.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex