Acura Ends Cadillac Perfection in Motor City


The duo that drives the No. 6 Acura ARX-05 avoided the disaster that struck a few of their competitors during a messy 100-minute street race and successfully turned Juan Pablo Montoya’s pole position into the win at the Raceway at Belle Isle Park.

Following Montoya’s start from the pole, Dane Cameron survived an unrelenting series of full-course caution periods to lead at what became the race’s penultimate restart with 30 minutes to go.

Three turns after that return of green-flag running, Harry Tincknell snuck past Felipe Nasr and the No. 31 Cadillac DPi-V.R. Stephen Simpson identified an opportunity to pass both cars into the next corner but punted Tincknell and Mazda Team Joest’s No. 77 entry into the wall with enough force to move the concrete barriers.

From there, Cameron retained control of the race — once the pace car relinquished its control when the green flag flew again with just over 20 minutes to go. Ricky Taylor ran second in the sister No. 7 Acura DPi with Nasr being bothered for the final podium position by Simpson in the No. 84 JDC-Miller Motorsports Cadillac DPi.

Struggling with the handling of his ORECA-based, Acura-powered machine, Taylor lost the second position to Nasr, who then set his sights on Cameron with hopes of extending Cadillac’s undefeated status in the shadows of General Motors’ headquarters.

Nasr pedaled the Whelen-branded No. 31 Action Express Racing Cadillac nearer to the rear wing of Cameron’s Acura but ultimately came 0.820 seconds short of the overall victory.

The triumph for Acura and Team Penske marks the second consecutive IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship win for Montoya and Cameron after the duo finished at the front in the No. 6 last time out at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Driving one of the six Cadillacs in the 11-car field, Nasr failed to back up his Detroit win from last year but was the top driver for the lone American DPi entrant as its perfect streak at the venue, lasting since 2012, came to a close.

Taylor hung on for third in the second Acura while Simpson and Tristan Vautier completed the top five for JDC-Miller Motorsports.

Nasr and co-driver Pipo Derani retain the DPi points lead, now with a margin of five points over Cameron and Montoya. Taylor and Castroneves of the No. 7 Acura are one more point further back.

With both of the year’s street circuit races in the books, all four WeatherTech Championship classes will race next at Watkins Glen International for the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen on the weekend of June 27–30.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Durant
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Herta Captures Pole for Season Finale

Colton Herta interjected himself into the championship-deciding race in a big way by claiming his second consecutive pole.

Andretti, Harding Steinbrenner Join Forces to Field Herta in 2020

Harding Steinbrenner Racing's No. 88 Honda for Colton Herta will be entered with Andretti Autosport in 2020.

Rosenqvist Edges Newgarden in Final Monterey Practice

Felix Rosenqvist was fastest in the final pre-qualifying session at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

Related articles
More like this on The Apex