Cameron Scores Sebring Pole

Acura and Team Penske will start the 67th Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring from the overall pole after a record-setting performance from Dane Cameron in qualifying.

Nine cars broke the prototype lap record that stood for one year at Sebring International Raceway, headed up by Cameron who eclipsed the record by more than 1.2 seconds in the No. 6 Acura ARX-05.

Just before qualifying, Cameron led a 1-2 result for the Acura-Penske combination in Practice 4 but went nearly eight-tenths of a second quicker when the combined DPi/LMP2 qualifying session arrived.

Castroneves was part of the pre-qualifying practice sweep and nearly matched the feat with Cameron in qualifying as he matched Tristan Nunez with the second-fastest lap. Nunez completed the lap first, however, earning a front-row start for the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P and relegating Castroneves’ No. 7 Acura DPi to third.

Castroneves will start alongside Filipe Albuquerque come race time Saturday after the Portuguese pilot made himself the fastest driver of a Cadillac DPi-V.R in the second qualifying session of 2019. After Albuquerque in the No. 5 Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi, Derani placed fifth in the team’s No. 31 entry.

Jordan Taylor and Jonathan Bomarito of Wayne Taylor Racing and Mazda Team Joest were the last drivers to lap within a second of Cameron’s pole time while Jon Bennett rounded out the 11-car DPi field in CORE autosport’s Nissan Onroak DPi — the car that won at Sebring under Tequila Patron ESM a year ago.

McMurry Steals LMP2 Pole

Matt McMurry’s eighth and final lap extended PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports’ perfect LMP2 weekend to qualifying as he put the team’s ORECA 07 on the class pole by a mere 0.011 seconds.

Kyle Masson, who joined McMurry in lapping quicker than last-placed DPi qualifier Bennett, will start second in Performance Tech Motorsports’ identical ORECA. Both drivers set the first 1:49 laps of the weekend in LMP2.

A brief warm-up outing will kick off the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s second race day of 2019 before live television coverage opens at 10:30 a.m. EDT on CNBC and the green flag flies at 10:40 a.m.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Durant
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Penske Victorious at Laguna Seca in 200th Sports Car Start

Dane Cameron and Juan Pablo Montoya earned Team Penske its 90th sports car racing win at Laguna Seca.

Mueller, Hand Earn First 2019 Win at Laguna Seca

Chip Ganassi Racing's No. 66 Ford GT became a winner for the first time in 2019 at Laguna Seca.

Acura Sweeps Laguna Seca Front Row

Ricky Taylor and Juan Pablo Montoya qualified first and second at Laguna Seca for Acura and Team Penske.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex