WTR Captures Win in Soaked Rolex 24


Wayne Taylor Racing and full-season co-pilots Jordan Taylor and Renger van der Zande kicked off IMSA’s 50th anniversary season with a victory in the 57th Rolex 24 at Daytona that was ultimately secured by two-time Formula 1 world champion Fernando Alonso.

Following a series of morning hours that featured more restraint than speed due to torrential downpour, the No. 10 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R and the similar No. 31 Cadillac DPi from Action Express Racing, driven by former F1 drivers Alonso and Felipe Nasr, surfaced as the prime contenders.

Cars competing in all four IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship classes spun, made contact or ran into other trouble in the ultra-challenging conditions. Elsewhere on the 3.56-mile Daytona International Speedway road course, Alonso and Nasr were trading the overall lead as if the anticipated rain never arrived.

A red-flag period that began at 7:22 a.m. EST Sunday and lasted more than an hour and a half was preceded and followed by yellow-flag running behind the safety car. Though the green flag returned for only one minute after that stoppage due to a crash, a green-flag period later on saw Nasr run wide through Turn 1 and allow Alonso to take control.

The red flag appeared for the second time soon thereafter and was followed by the checkered flag with 23 hours and 50 minutes complete, sealing Wayne Taylor’s second Rolex 24 triumph in three years.

The DPi podium, rounded out by the No. 7 Team Penske Acura ARX-05 behind Alonso and Nasr, were the only cars to remain on the lead lap and completed 593 revolutions of the circuit during 21 hours, 59 minutes and 19 seconds on track.

Team Penske Acuras at Daytona
Both Team Penske Acuras were strong, running inside the top five throughout the 24-hour race. | Photo: Jake Galstad / IMSA

At four and seven laps down, former LMP2 rivals CORE autosport and JDC-Miller Motorsports completed the top five in DPi with their new Nissan Onroak DPi and Cadillac machinery.

Ten laps further back, the No. 6 Acura DPi of Juan Pablo Montoya, Dane Cameron and Simon Pagenaud came home sixth after contending for the victory but falling behind due to an engine issue with Pagenaud in the cockpit.

The pole-sitting No. 77 Mazda RT24-P spent the first segment of the race running up front but caught fire while running second and moments after the sister No. 55 fell out of contention with an electrical failure. The No. 77 is scored last in DPi having completed six hours and 42 minutes.

DragonSpeed Wins LMP2

After showing up to run half of the entries in the WeatherTech Championship’s new secondary prototype division, DragonSpeed will leave Daytona as winners.

The team’s No. 18 ORECA 07 crashed at the hands of Sebastian Saavedra at the height of the rainy conditions, nearly collecting overall leader Alonso and helping IMSA come to the decision to introduce the initial red flag.

At the time of the incident, Saavedra held a four-lap advantage over the No. 38 ORECA from Performance Tech Motorsports. The Colombian and co-driver to Roberto Gonzalez, Pastor Maldonado and Ryan Cullen ended the race with the same advantage, delivering the LMP2 win to Elton Julian’s DragonSpeed group.

Along with the two GT divisions, the prototype classes will race next March 16, 2019 at the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring for the second round of the Michelin Endurance Cup and WeatherTech Championship season.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Duranthttp://aarondurant.com
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

Related articles
More like this on The Apex