Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Mazda Bolsters Endurance Lineup


Mazda Team Joest will fill its pair of Mazda RT24-P machines with a revised driver lineup for the 2019 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season.

The team’s core roster will maintain consistency with both Jonathan Bomarito and Harry Tincknell returning as the full-season drivers of the No. 55 car. Tristan Nunez and Oliver Jarvis will also reprise their roles as the No. 77 machine’s primary pilots.

Olivier Pla will join Bomarito and Tincknell at the four Michelin Endurance Cup races. The Frenchman brings considerable experience to the lineup with victories in the FIA World Endurance Championship and the WeatherTech Championship’s season-ending Petit Le Mans in 2016.

Nunez and Jarvis will partner with Timo Bernhard, a five-time champion across the WEC and American Le Mans Series. Bernhard’s accolades include three 24 Hours of Le Mans victories as well as wins in the Rolex 24 at Daytona and Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

René Rast will return to the No. 77 Mazda at both Daytona and Sebring, adding a second German endurance pilot to the car’s lineup alongside the season-long drivers.

Outside of the cockpit, Joest Racing engineer Jan Lange has moved into the role of Mazda Team Joest CEO. Chris Mower, a veteran of open-wheel racing in the IndyCar Series, has been named team coordinator.

Coming off a double podium at the final race of 2018, Mazda will begin its 2019 campaign January 26–27 at Daytona.

Ben Hinc
Ben Hinc
Ben's executive editor title is purposefully broad to encompass the bottomless list of roles he fills for The Apex, which includes webmaster, graphic designer, quality consultant and writer. Ben's technical background and progressive media distribution approach set The Apex apart technologically and philosophically.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Acura DPi in 2019 Long Beach GP IMSA qualifying

Unbreaking motor sports news

Quality matters

Publications that rely on ad revenue are incentivized to prioritize quantity over quality. And when clicks matter more than delivering value, nobody wins.

By asking regular readers to support The Apex, we're able to write for motor sports fans who believe world-class racing deserves high-quality writing.


With four classes, oft-debated regulations and races lasting as long as 24 hours, there's always more to be written about the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

price motrin cost fluoxetine no rx ach buy xalatan wednesday no prescription biaxin tonsillitis cost