Saturday, July 20, 2019

Jarvis Collects Daytona Pole With New Track Record


Mazda Team Joest will begin the 57th Rolex 24 at Daytona from the overall pole after Oliver Jarvis broke the longstanding sports car track record at the Daytona International Speedway.

P.J Jones’ record time of 1:33.875 from 1993, set in an All American Racers-built Eagle MkIII, has been displaced by Jarvis’ 1:33.685 as the best ever at the historic venue.

Set on the fourth of just five revolutions of the 3.56-mile road course for the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P, Jarvis’ lap afforded the pole-winning car a gap of 0.188 seconds over the Acura ARX-05 duo from Team Penske which qualified second and third.

Jarvis unofficially broke the track record during the Roar Before the Rolex 24 test earlier this month. The enhanced speed of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s premier class in 2019 is due to the separation of DPi and LMP2 cars plus the new tires provided by IMSA’s new tire supplier Michelin.

Ricky Taylor and the No. 7 Acura DPi will start second alongside Jarvis and the No. 77 Mazda DPi when the 24-hour race arrives Saturday. Juan Pablo Montoya will take the green flag from the third position in the sister No. 6 Acura.

Ricky Taylor pits in 7 Acura Team Penske DPi
Acura and Team Penske were Mazda Team Joest’s closest competition in qualifying. | Photo: Michael L. Levitt / IMSA

The second Mazda DPi will begin the daylong race from the outside of Row 2 after Jonathan Bomarito came within 0.527 seconds of his teammate’s pole time.

A series of five Cadillac DPi-V.Rs follow the Mazdas and Acuras on the qualifying results, led by Felipe Nasr’s qualifying run in the No. 31 Action Express Racing car. A brake fire kept the team’s second car from appearing in qualifying.

Jordan Taylor and Agustin Canapino qualified sixth and seventh in the Cadillac DPis from Wayne Taylor Racing and Juncos Racing while JDC-Miller Motorsports’ new Cadillacs will start eighth and ninth.

The first qualifying outing for CORE autosport with its Nissan Onroak DPi led to a 10th-place result with Jon Bennett in the cockpit.

DragonSpeed Leads LMP2 Qualifying

After pacing the LMP2 division in Practice 2, James Allen returned to the cockpit of DragonSpeed’s No. 81 ORECA 07 for the combined DPi/LMP2 qualifying session and returned to the top of the secondary prototype division.

At 1:35.904, Allen’s time was good enough for the LMP2 pole by 0.523 seconds. Gabriel Aubry placed second in the No. 52 ORECA from PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports.

The second DragonSpeed entry and Performance Tech Motorsports’ car round out the four-car class.

A nighttime practice from 7–8:30 p.m. EST will conclude Thursday’s WeatherTech Championship running at Daytona and leave a Friday morning practice as the only on-track activity left before the 24-hour race begins Saturday at 2:35 p.m.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Durant
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Acura DPi in 2019 Long Beach GP IMSA qualifying

Unbreaking motor sports news

Quality matters

Publications that rely on ad revenue are incentivized to prioritize quantity over quality. And when clicks matter more than delivering value, nobody wins.

By asking regular readers to support The Apex, we're able to write for motor sports fans who believe world-class racing deserves high-quality writing.


With four classes, oft-debated regulations and races lasting as long as 24 hours, there's always more to be written about the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.