Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Shank Announces All-Female Entry for 2019


Still working to return as a full-time IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship entrant with two Acura NSX GT3s in 2019, Meyer Shank Racing has confirmed one of its entries for next year with an all-female driver lineup.

Jackie Heinricher, a U.S. Air Force veteran and the first woman to compete in the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo North America, will pair with Katherine Legge in the No. 57 Acura for the full GT Daytona season. Coming aboard for the quartet of Michelin Endurance Cup rounds will be former IndyCar Series drivers Ana Beatriz and Simona de Silvestro.

While four-time Indianapolis 500 starter Beatriz will race at Daytona International Speedway, Sebring International Raceway, Watkins Glen International and Road Atlanta, de Silvestro will bring her experience to only the 2019 Rolex 24 at Daytona as the fourth driver in the car.

Caterpillar Inc., the world’s leading manufacturer of construction and mining equipment, engines and other industrial hardware, will be featured as the entry’s primary sponsor. Along with the car’s number, the CAT partnership is something Heinricher will bring to the WeatherTech Championship from her previous racing endeavors.

“My vision has long been to bring together a diverse team of four female drivers, some of the fastest globally, to join forces to compete together and with the support of CAT, I get to see my long-held vision become reality,” Heinricher said.

Beyond the North American effort, the team aims to contest the 87th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2019. It will start its work, however, at Daytona in January.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Duranthttp://aarondurant.com
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Acura DPi in 2019 Long Beach GP IMSA qualifying

Unbreaking motor sports news

Quality matters

Publications that rely on ad revenue are incentivized to prioritize quantity over quality. And when clicks matter more than delivering value, nobody wins.

By asking regular readers to support The Apex, we're able to write for motor sports fans who believe world-class racing deserves high-quality writing.


With four classes, oft-debated regulations and races lasting as long as 24 hours, there's always more to be written about the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

average price motrin 200mg hospital discount keppra priority mail cost buy cheap zantac online isi1z can i purchase glucophage dianben