Derani Claims Final Overall Pole of 2018


The previous mark to beat in Prototype qualifying for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship at Road Atlanta fell by 0.877 seconds as Pipo Derani earned the overall pole for Saturday’s 10-hour season finale.

The final qualifying outing of 2018 was dominated in the flagship Prototype category by Japanese hardware as Derani and Norman Nato used their Nissan Onroak DPis to battle the Mazda RT24-P duo qualified by Oliver Jarvis and Jonathan Bomarito.

While Derani came out on top to add to his pole earlier this season at the Raceway at Belle Isle Park, Jarvis ended up second, 0.124 seconds off the pole pace in the No. 77 Mazda DPi.

Beyond earning the final pole up for grabs in 2018, Derani will also hold the distinction of being the final driver to bring Extreme Speed Motorsports a pole with longtime sponsor Tequila Patron on the car.

The second Mazda will head up the second row after Bomarito came within 0.039 seconds of his teammate and, subsequently, 0.163 seconds of Derani. Nato will start fourth in the No. 2 Nissan DPi.

Colin Braun in CORE autosport ORECA during Petit Le Mans night practice
CORE autosport, having found success in multiple races in 2018 after starting last, qualified 10th for the 10-hour season finale. | Photo: Jake Galstad / IMSA

A Team Penske-entered ORECA 07 earned the Motul Petit Le Mans pole a year ago but, with its Acura ARX-05 duo this time around, the best the team could qualify was fifth. Ricky Taylor landed there in the No. 7 Acura DPi ahead of Filipe Albuquerque, the fastest driver of a Cadillac DPi-V.R.

The championship-contending No. 31 Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi and CORE autosport ORECA, split by just four points, will both start from the fifth row after qualifying 0.090 seconds apart.

A year on from Helio Castroneves’ pole run in Penske’s one-off entry with the ORECA, the Brazilian’s lap record was beaten by 11 of the 14 prototypes on hand in 2018.

A 20-minute warm-up outing scheduled to begin at 8:30 a.m. EDT Saturday will precede the 10-hour race. After FS1’s television coverage opens at 10:30 a.m., the green flag will fly at 11:05 a.m.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Durant
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

Related articles
More like this on The Apex