COTA Aboard for 2019


As one of essentially two new venues on the calendar, Circuit of The Americas will host the Verizon IndyCar Series for its first time soon after the 2019 season kicks off in March.

Located in the Lone Star State, COTA is the United States’ lone purpose-built Grand Prix facility and, as the venue for the second round of 2019, is the second-longest circuit on the updated schedule behind Road America.

COTA has hosted Formula 1, MotoGP, sports car racing’s Pirelli World Challenge, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and FIA World Endurance Championship and more since opening in 2011. The Austin, Texas racetrack is absent from the FIA WEC’s “Super Season” schedule, however, and was traded by IMSA for the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in 2018.

Though top-level sports car racing is missing, two IndyCar races will be held in the state with Texas Motor Speedway returning on June 8. The 1.5-mile superspeedway in Texas will be the second oval visited in 2019 as COTA effectively replaces the outgoing ISM Raceway near Phoenix.

Beyond the addition of COTA and return of WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, minor date changes for two other events are reflected on the 2019 schedule.

IndyCar will head to Barber Motorsports Park to race Sunday, April 7 — the weekend occupied by the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama for the first four of its nine years. The series’ 13th visit to Iowa Speedway, meanwhile, has been pushed back two weeks for its return to a Saturday night slot.

Featuring seven road courses, five ovals and five street races at four temporary tracks, the 2019 season will mark the second year of competition for the universal aero kit and the first of INDYCAR’s exclusive media rights deal with the NBC Sports Group. Nearly half of the 17 races will be telecast on NBC, heightening IndyCar’s exposure on network television.

March 10Streets of St. PetersburgSt. Petersburg, Fla.
March 24Circuit of The AmericasAustin, Texas
April 7Barber Motorsports ParkBirmingham, Ala.
April 14Streets of Long BeachLong Beach, Calif.
May 11Indianapolis Motor Speedway road courseIndianapolis, Ind.
May 26Indianapolis Motor Speedway ovalIndianapolis, Ind.
June 1Raceway at Belle Isle ParkDetroit, Mich.
June 2Raceway at Belle Isle ParkDetroit, Mich.
June 8Texas Motor SpeedwayFort Worth, Texas
June 23Road AmericaElkhart Lake, Wis.
July 14Streets of TorontoToronto, Ontario
July 20Iowa SpeedwayNewton, Iowa
July 28Mid-Ohio Sports Car CourseLexington, Ohio
Aug. 18Pocono RacewayLong Pond, Pa.
Aug. 24Gateway Motorsports ParkMadison, Ill.
Sept. 1Portland International RacewayPortland, Ore.
Sept. 22WeatherTech Raceway Laguna SecaSalinas, Calif.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Durant
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

Related articles
More like this on The Apex