Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Tandy Secures GTLM Pole at CTMP


The Porsche GT Team will start Sunday’s Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix from the GT Le Mans pole with its No. 911 Porsche 911 RSR which was pedaled to the top of qualifying for the class by Nick Tandy.

At 1:13.517, Tandy’s best qualifying lap marked a significant improvement over the previous fastest GTLM lap of the weekend, set by Tandy himself hours earlier in Practice 3.

After a slow start to qualifying for the Ford GT duo, Ryan Briscoe reached the second position in Chip Ganassi Racing’s No. 67 entry on his penultimate lap. Briscoe and the car remained in that position through to the checkered flag, securing a start from the outside of the front row.

Jan Magnussen and Oliver Gavin qualified third and fifth for Corvette Racing, split by Laurens Vanthoor in the No. 912 Porsche. Vanthoor lapped within 0.438 seconds of the fastest lap from his Porsche stablemate Tandy and was the final driver in the class within half a second of the pole time.

BMW Team RLL’s pair of BMW M8 GTEs were sixth and seventh in the eight-car class which was rounded out by Joey Hand, who was 0.711 seconds back from Tandy in the No. 66 Ford GT.

3GT Locks Out GTD Front Row

Jack Hawksworth poel in 3GT Lexus
Jack Hawksworth sped to the GTD pole with a lap four-tenths of a second quicker than teammate Dominik Baumann. | Photo: Jake Galstad / IMSA

After achieving the same feat in Practice 3, 3GT Racing’s pair of Lexus RC F GT3s topped qualifying with Jack Hawksworth 0.439 seconds ahead of Dominik Baumann to earn the class pole.

A 0.366-second gap separated Baumann from Bryan Sellers, who was third fastest in his points-leading Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3. Ben Keating and Michael Schein completed the top five of the 11-car class in their Mercedes-AMG and Porsche machinery, respectively.

The championship-contending No. 86 Acura NSX GT3 qualified sixth at the hands of Alvaro Parente as the final car within a second of Hawksworth’s pole pace.

A 20-minute warm-up outing is next for these GT categories as well as the flagship Prototype division at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. That session will open race day at 9:50 a.m. EDT Sunday before the two-hour, 40-minute contest begins at 2:05 p.m.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Durant
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Superspeedway aero kit rear wing on Hunter-Reay DHL Honda at Texas

Keep us on track

Intentionally different

Apexes and braking points are a racetrack's slowest features, but they're also rife with overtaking opportunity. With no ads and an intense focus on quality, The Apex and The Braking Point podcast are just as unique.

Being unique can come at a cost, but we don't see it that way. With the value-for-value model, a partnership between The Apex and its readers can be formed — something far more valuable than ad revenue.


Going beyond race weekends and who said what, we aim to analyze and bring perspective to prevalent IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and NTT IndyCar Series topics in feature articles like these.