35 Cars on Road America Entry List

After a brief sojourn in Connecticut for the GT Le Mans and GT Daytona divisions, the Prototype class will rejoin the grid for the upcoming Continental Tire Road Race Showcase at Road America.

Thirty-five cars will be on hand in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin led by the return of 14 DPi and LMP2 contenders. Notably, in their first race since the Mobil 1 Sports Car Grand Prix on July 8, Action Express Racing will welcome Joao Barbosa back to the No. 5 Cadillac DPi-V.R.

Barbosa, who has been out of the cockpit for the last two races following a cycling accident, will once again pair with Felipe Albuquerque. Albuquerque trails stablemates Eric Curran and Felipe Nasr in the Prototype driver standings by one point.

Road America will also witness the return of both Tequila Patron ESM Nissan Onroak DPis after just one car competed at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park with a hybrid driver lineup. The remainder of the Prototype entry list remains unchanged from the previous round.

The regular GTLM field will continue with two cars fielded by each of the four teams, including Chip Ganassi Racing’s No. 66 Ford GT which left the Northeast Grand Prix owning the championship lead.

Joey Hand and Dirk Mueller of that No. 66 car were victorious in last year’s Road America race and will look for consecutive wins at the historic track. Mueller is tied with Corvette Racing driver Oliver Gavin with four pole positions at Road America. Gavin, who’s won four times at the 4-mile track, sits fifth in the GTLM standings with co-driver Tommy Milner.

The second-largest contingent of cars will belong to the GTD class.The 13-car division will grow by three over the last round thanks to an extra Porsche 911 GT3 R from Wright Motorsports as well as Squadra Corse Garage Italia’s Ferrari and the return of Park Place Motorsports with drivers Patrick Lindsey and Joerg Bergmeister.

The two-hour and 40-minute race is set to take the green flag Aug. 5 at 1:35 p.m. CDT with live television coverage on FS1.

Ben Hinc
Ben Hinchttp://www.benhinc.com
Ben's executive editor title is purposefully broad to encompass the bottomless list of roles he fills for The Apex, which includes webmaster, graphic designer, quality consultant and writer. Ben's technical background and progressive media distribution approach set The Apex apart technologically and philosophically.

Latest news

Penske Victorious at Laguna Seca in 200th Sports Car Start

Dane Cameron and Juan Pablo Montoya earned Team Penske its 90th sports car racing win at Laguna Seca.

Mueller, Hand Earn First 2019 Win at Laguna Seca

Chip Ganassi Racing's No. 66 Ford GT became a winner for the first time in 2019 at Laguna Seca.

Acura Sweeps Laguna Seca Front Row

Ricky Taylor and Juan Pablo Montoya qualified first and second at Laguna Seca for Acura and Team Penske.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

More articles
Related pieces on The Apex