Felipe Nasr wins 2018 Detroit IMSA race
Action Express Racing drivers Eric Curran and Felipe Nasr executed a flawless 100 minutes of racing to win overall at the Raceway at Belle Isle Park. | Photo: Gannon Burgett / The Apex

Felipe Nasr managed to hold off Ricky Taylor as the latter half of this year’s Chevrolet Sports Car Classic turned into a duel between Cadillac and Acura, snagging the overall victory for a General Motors brand in the company’s backyard.

Eric Curran became a two-time winner at the Raceway at Belle Isle Park when his co-driver in Action Express Racing’s No. 31 Cadillac DPi-V.R took the checkered flag 1.016 seconds ahead of Taylor who chased behind in the No. 7 Acura ARX-05 as Team Penske debuted the car at its home event.

Dane Cameron placed the second Acura DPi, the No. 6, on the podium as well, finishing 14.127 seconds in arrears of the victorious Action Express Cadillac DPi.

As the sister car to the pole-sitting Tequila Patron ESM entry, the No. 2 Nissan Onroak DPi was brought home in fourth by Ryan Dalziel. Crossing the line 45.698 seconds after Nasr following 100-minutes of racing, Dalziel climbed into the No. 2 car in the midst of a complicated start to the race that included a one-car incident for one of 3GT Racing’s GT Daytona-competing Lexus RC F GT3s and electrical issues for the No. 22 Nissan DPi that started from the pole at the hands of Pipo Derani.

Within the first 10 minutes of the race, Derani dropped from the lead to the back of the Prototype category as he slowed on track and came to the pit lane for a new steering wheel. With help from the full-course caution to clean up the Lexus incident, Derani found himself back in the lead before turning the car over to Johannes van Overbeek with 43 minutes remaining.

Van Overbeek brought the No. 22 Nissan to the line just under nine seconds behind the two other Cadillacs that began the final lap: Wayne Taylor Racing’s No. 10 car and the second Action Express entry, which ran out of fuel at the hands of Filipe Albuquerque during the final lap.

Gustavo Yacaman ended the 68-lap race as the top LMP2 driver, ensuring AFS/PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports was the top LMP2 team with its No. 52 Ligier JS P217.

LMP2 drivers Simon Trummer, Stephen Simpson and Jon Bennett were the final cars ahead of the GTD field in the overall results, with mechanical issues forcing Mazda Team Joest and Spirit of Daytona Racing to retire the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P and No. 90 Cadillac cars, respectively.

Once back from France following the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the GT Le Mans competitors of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship will converge on Watkins Glen International with the Prototype and GTD classes for the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen on the weekend of June 28 to July 1.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here