2017 IndyCar Schedule Unveiled


The schedule for the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series season has been formally unveiled by INDYCAR to feature 17 rounds, up by one over 2016 with the addition of Gateway Motorsports Park.

The 17 races will be held at six ovals, six permanent road courses and five temporary street circuits with Watkins Glen International and Gateway confirmed for multi-year deals.

“The release of the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule continues to build upon the success INDYCAR has experienced the last three years and establishes continuity and consistency in our event calendar,” said Hulman & Co. CEO Mark Miles.

“As a series we are working diligently to create long-term relationships with our promoters to establish date equity and to provide them with the opportunity to initiate ticket renewals and event promotions earlier, which is pivotal to continuing the increase in attendance at our events.”

For the sixth year in succession, the Verizon IndyCar Series will open its season on the streets of St. Petersburg, this time on the weekend of March 9–12. The St. Petersburg race is confirmed through 2020 with the 2018 date already set for March 8–11, 2018.

Having last hosted Indy car racing in 2003, Gateway Motorsports Park will welcome back the Verizon IndyCar Series on Aug. 26, 2017.

The finale round will be held at Sonoma Raceway on Sept. 17, marking the third straight year that the series champion will be decided at the circuit in California.

Spanning from March 12 to Sept. 17, the 2017 season will be 189 days long — exactly the same length as 2016 but 35 days longer than the 2015 season was.

2017 IndyCar Schedule

The full 2017 calendar for the Verizon IndyCar Series follows below.

Date Race Track
March 12 Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg streets of St. Petersburg
April 9 Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach streets of Long Beach
April 23 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Barber Motorsports Park
April 29 Phoenix 250 Phoenix International Raceway
May 13 Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course
May 28 101st Indianapolis 500 Indianapolis Motor Speedway
June 3 Chevrolet Dual in Detroit Race 1 Raceway at Belle Isle Park
June 4 Chevrolet Dual in Detroit Race 2 Raceway at Belle Isle Park
June 10 Firestone 600 Texas Motor Speedway
June 25 KOHLER Grand Prix Road America
July 9 Iowa Corn 300 Iowa Speedway
July 16 Honda Indy Toronto streets of Toronto
July 30 Honda Indy 200 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Aug. 20 ABC Supply 500 Pocono Raceway
Aug. 26 St. Louis 250 Gateway Motorsports Park
Sept. 3 Grand Prix at The Glen Watkins Glen International
Sept. 17 GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Sonoma Raceway


Longstanding television partners ABC and NBCSN will once again broadcast the entirety of the Verizon IndyCar Series season in 2017, with the final TV schedule expected to be revealed later this year.

Aaron Durant
Aaron Duranthttp://aarondurant.com
Aaron brings a developing design and editorial vision to The Apex every day and co-hosts The Braking Point podcast every week. As editor-in-chief and an avid reader, Aaron enjoys aligning his relentless care for quality with an interest in counterintuitive approaches.

Latest news

Victory for Whelen Cadillac, Championship for Penske at Petit

Disaster for the No. 5 Cadillac DPi promoted the No. 31 to the lead in a dramatic conclusion to the 2019 season.

Risi Takes Ferrari to Petit Victory in GTLM

Risi Competizione's first WeatherTech Championship race since Daytona culminated in the GTLM victory.

Nasr Claims Final 2019 Pole for Action Express

Felipe Nasr made Action Express Racing the pole-sitting team for the final race of 2019 with its championship-contending No. 31 Cadillac DPi.

Enjoy The Apex?

It takes time and effort to keep The Apex on track. Your contribution supports our writing and makes this ad-free design work.

Must read

Related articles
More like this on The Apex