54 Cars Entered for Roar

Action Express Racing at Daytona
Photo: Action Express Racing

The entry list for the Roar Before the Rolex 24 features 54 initial entrants for what will be the final on-track testing ahead of the season-opening 24-hour event at the Daytona International Speedway.


The flagship class of IMSA’s premier championship is 13-deep for this year’s Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Under the new team name Panoz DeltaWing Racing, the No. 0 DeltaWing DWC13 is set for its return to the high banks of Daytona, and will be driven by Katherine Legge, Sean Rayhall, Andrew Meyrick and Andreas Wirth.

After spending 2015 focusing on their new FIA World Endurance Championship campaign in the LMP2 category, Florida-based Tequila Patrón ESM will bring one of their Honda-powered Ligier JS P2 cars to Daytona for Scott Sharp, Ed Brown, Johannes van Overbeek and team newcomer Pipo Derani to share for the event.

Full-time drivers for Action Express Racing’s No. 5 Corvette DP Christian Fittipaldi and João Barbosa will be joined at the Roar and the 24-hour race to follow by Audi factory driver Filipe Albuquerque and sports car racing ace Scott Pruett, while Simon Pagenaud and Jonny Adam will join Dane Cameron and Eric Curran in the team’s No. 31 entry.

The recently-finalized driver lineup for SMP Racing’s BR01 features Russian drivers Mikhail Aleshin and Kirill Ladygin, Italy’s Maurizio Mediani and Frenchman Nic Minassian.

The BMW-powered Daytona Prototype entry from Highway to Help makes its return with Byron Defoor, Dorsey Shroeder, David Hinton, Thomas Gruber and Jim Pace listed as the drivers for the No. 50 entry.

The three-driver lineups for Mazda’s pair of P2-style, gasoline-powered entries have had their final drivers finalized, with Spencer Pigot and Ben Devlin listed to drive the Nos. 55 and 70 entries respectively.

The lone TBA driver slot in the Prototype class is the fourth driver for Michael Shank Racing’s Ligier JS P2 alongside John Pew, Ozz Negri and AJ Allmendinger.

Prototype Challenge

Of the eight PC class entries for the Roar, four include at least one driver slot that is yet to be filled.

One of two entries from Starworks Motorsport as well as the cars from PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports, CORE autosport and JDC-Miller Motorsports are all finalized with four drivers each.

The No. 20 car of BAR1 Motorsports has two empty slots listed for its five-driver lineup. The team’s other entry, the No. 26, will field four rather than five drivers at Daytona, with the final pilot TBA alongside Adam Merzon, Ryan Eversley and Don Yount.

Performance Tech Motorsports’ lone entry is the most vacant on the provisional Roar entry list with three drivers still to be named to the No. 38 car with James French.

Additionally, Starworks Motorsport’s No. 88 car is missing a fourth driver to join Mark Kvamme, Sean Johnston and Maro Engel.

GT Le Mans

All driver lineups for the 11 GT Le Mans cars are complete on the provisional Roar entry list, with the exception of the Risi Competizione entry as the team is expected to miss the three days of testing at Daytona while they wait for their new Ferrari 488 GTE to be delivered nearer to the Rolex 24.

The pair of Ford GT entries by Chip Ganassi Racing have Frenchman Sebastien Bourdais and German driver Stefan Mücke listed as the third drivers, though they have not yet been formally revealed as the team’s endurance drivers for the upcoming year.

GT Daytona

At double the size of the GT Le Mans field for Daytona, the refreshed GT Daytona class is greatly expanded due to the ushering-in of GT3-spec machinery.

A pair of new Audi R8 LMS GT3 entries from Stevenson Motorsports lack third drivers on the provisional entry list for the Roar while the Lamborghini Huracán GT3 cars of O’Gara Motorsport, Change Racing and Konrad Motorsport each have two of their four driver slots filled.

An unexpected second entry from Konrad has five drivers named to it for the Roar.

A third driver is missing from the Porsche 911 GT3 R entry of Frikadelli Racing, which will make its WeatherTech Championship debut at Daytona while Magnus Racing, having switched from Porsche to the new Audi R8 LMS GT3 for 2016, is yet to name its pair of additional Daytona drivers alongside full-time pilots Andy Lally and John Potter.

The Roar Before the Rolex 24 will take place on Jan. 8–10, 2016.